Our Officers

New Hampshire Democratic Party Officers:


Chair, Raymond Buckley


buckleyheadshotRaymond Buckley was elected as Chair of the New Hampshire Democratic Party in March of 2007. Prior to serving as Chair he served as the Party’s 1st Vice Chair and Executive Director. His professional political involvement began when he was an organizer for Jimmy Carter’s campaign for President in 1976. Since then he has been involved with each Presidential campaign in New Hampshire as well as campaigns for Governor, US House, US Senate and the NH State Senate. During the 2006 election cycle he was the Executive Director for the NH Senate Democratic Caucus. In 1986 he was elected to the State House from Manchester where he served eight terms.

In January of 2009, Chairman Buckley was elected the President of the Association of State Democratic Chairs. He was re-elected to the position in February 2011 and again in January of 2013. In his role as ASDC President he also serves as a Vice Chair for the Democratic National Committee. Chairman Buckley also serves on the DNC Rules and Bylaws Committee.

As a national leader in the LGBT community, Chairman Buckley serves on the DNC’s LGBT Caucus as well as the National Stonewall Democrats. Chairman Buckley is the first openly gay politician to serve as the President of the Association of State Democratic Chairs and as a Vice Chair of the Democratic National Committee.


1st Vice Chair, Martha Fuller Clark

Martha Fuller Clark was elected as the 1st Vice Chair of the New Hampshire Democratic Party in March of 2007. Martha and her husband, Dr. Jeff Clark, both reside in Portsmouth where she has served the residents of Portsmouth as a State Representative (1990-2002) and as a State Senator (2004-2010). In 2002 she was the 1st Congressional District Democratic Nominee. During her service in the NH State Senate she served as President Pro-Tem and Chaired the Senate Energy, Environment and Economic Development Committees.

Senator Fuller Clark has served as the former President of the Board Strawbery Banke, as an adviser to the National Trust for Historic Preservation and is the past President of Scenic America.

In 2007 Senator Fuller Clark became one of then-Senator Obama’s Co-Chairs for his campaign for President in New Hampshire. She is a member of the Democratic National Committee where she serves on the Resolutions Committee.

Senator Fuller Clark was elected to the NH State Senate on November 6th, 2012.


2nd Vice Chair, Dorothy Solomon

Dorothy Solomon was elected as the 2nd Vice Chair of the New Hampshire Democratic Party in 2009. Prior to her election as 2nd Vice Chair she served as the NHDP Secretary.

She currently served as Carroll County Commissioner and lives in Albany with her husband Stan, a U.S. Army veteran. As Commissioner, she has been an advocate for working families in the district and was instrumental in bringing a new county nursing home to the region.

Solomon, a former teacher, has become increasingly involved in local politics since she moved to the state 15 years ago. Both she and her husband are actively involved in various charitable organizations in the local community. Stan Solomon drives veterans without transportation to the VA hospitals in Manchester and Vermont as well as to the local clinics.


Secretary, Bette Lasky

Bette Lasky is the New Hampshire Democratic Party’s Secretary, having been elected to that position in 2011. Bette Lasky served as a State Senator from Nashua between 2008-2010. Prior to being a State Senator she served five terms as a state Representative. During her term in the State Senate she was the Chair of the Election Law and Veteran’s Affairs Committee, the Vice Chair of the Judiciary Committee, and a member of the Education and Energy, Environment, and Economic Development committees.

Active in local and state politics for many years, Senator Lasky has been the chairman of the Nashua City Planning Board, a Nashua City Selectman, and Vice Chairman of the Nashua City Committee.

In other community service, she has served on the board of directors for Girls Inc., the Disabilities Rights Center, and the NH Association for the Blind.

Bette holds a degree in political science from the University of Massachusetts-Amherst and lives in Nashua with her husband, Dr. Elliot Lasky. They have two grown daughters.

Senator Lasky was elected to the NH State Senate on November, 6th, 2012.


Treasurer, Brian Rapp

Brian Rapp was elected Treasurer August 9th, 2012. Brian is a current member of the Claremont School Board and is a professional Fire Fighter. On March 9th, 2013 Brian was elected to a full term as Treasurer

He lives in Claremont with his wife and two sons.


Legal Counsel, Dan McKenna


Dan McKenna was elected the Legal Counsel for the NHDP on March 9th, 2013. Dan is a former State Representative from Derry where he served on the Election Law Committee.

He is a graduate of Suffolk University Law School and is an attorney at Manning & Zimmerman PLLC in Manchester.

Dan currently resides in Derry with his wife and daughter where he currently serves as a member of the Derry School Board.



DNC Committeewoman, Kathy Sullivan

Kathy Sullivan is the NHDP DNC Committeewoman. Serving since 2008 she was re-elected to this position in April of 2012. She serves on the DNC Credentials Committee and is a former member of the DNC Rules and Bylaws Committee.

Kathy served as the New Hampshire Democratic Party Chair from 2001 to 2007. In 2007 she was the Chairwoman of the Draft Jeanne Shaheen for Senate Committee and was a Co-Chair for Hillary Clinton’s presidential campaign.

Professionally Kathy is a member of the Wadleigh, Starr & Peters law firm practicing law in the real estate, zoning and planning, commercial and residential development and election law areas.

Kathy and her husband, John Rist, reside in Manchester.


DNC Committeeman, William Shaheen


Attorney William Shaheen currently is serving as the NH DNC Committeeman. Mr. Shaheen has long been active in New Hampshire politics including being Chair of the 1976 NH for Jimmy Carter Campaign.

In 1977, President Carter asked him to serve as U.S. Attorney for the State of New Hampshire and he held that position for four (4) years. After that, in 1981, he opened his new practice with Steve Gordon and they have been partners ever since. Also in that same year, Governor Gallen appointed Bill to be the District Court Judge for the Durham District Court.

DNC At-Large Member, Joanne Dowdell

Joanne Dowdell was nominated to be a DNC At-Large Member by then-DNC Chair, Governor Tim Kaine & President Obama. She was elected by the DNC to the post in September 2009. She was re-appointed by the President and DNC Chair Rep. Wasserman Schultz in 2013. Prior to serving in this role she was the NHDP Secretary.

Joanne served as a Delegate to the Democratic National Convention in 2008 & 2012 for President Obama.

New Hampshire Democratic Party
105 N. State Street
Concord, NH 03301
Phone: (603) 225-6899
Email: office@nhdp.org

Paid for and maintained by the New Hampshire Democratic Party.
Not Authorized by any candidate or candidate's committee.

Contributions to the NHDP are not tax deductible for federal income tax purposes.